Altenew Places Abroad – Australia

I was very excited as an Australian to see that this month’s Altenew Places Abroad Challenge  was related to Australia. It is has always amused me that when I’ve travelled around the world people have had lots of wacky ideas about the great land down under. I only had a good laugh the other day when I thought back to when I was a little kid and we had visitors from the UK who asked my mum if it was true that we had kangaroos hopping down the streets. At the time she laughed and aid “of course not.”

Strangely though now that I am grown up I live in a suburban area where it is not unusual to have to dodge kangaroos on my daily trips to drop my kids off and pick them up from school. On more than one occasion I’ve had a roo bounding alongside my car as I drive. It is a 4.8 km drive to school and the kids always count how many kangaroos we see on the trip. Our current record is 32! Even funnier is that earlier this week my youngest son and I were headed to school pick up and had to stop whilst a koala slowly crossed the road. We have Red-Back spiders everywhere in our yard and there have even been a few Brown Snake alerts at school. Welcome to Australia! It really is an interesting place full of wild things but I certainly can’t imagine living anywhere else!

Anyway on to my card using the Altenew Inspiration…

Altenew_Inspiration-Challenge_May

I found the colours quite tricky to work with as I don’t often use such earthy tones but I tried to just be creative and have fun with it…

Wildflowers card

I’ve used stamps from Birch Land to make my background and attached some tiny seed beads along some string at the front for a fun interactive element as they move around when you handle the card. I used a Copic marker for my birds and Altenew inks pads for all my stamping.

Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog!  Em

Leave a Reply

